h1

Sepia Tears and Google Sketchup… bringing you a truckload full of cheap, fast and very much re-usable BG-CG’s

September 13, 2010

Wait! Please don’t leave yet!… I know you’re tired of me praising Google sketchup and me using it for BG-CG’s again and again but at least stay a while and listen… please (puppy eyes)

And once again… I found myself involved in another project even though I’m already working on my flagship project which now makes it two projects I’m now working on… this time it’s “Sepia Tears ~midwinter’s reprise~”

I dunno… I’m still half wondering myself why did I reach out and decided to help in this project despite the fact that this is really REALLY way out of my usual spectrum?… Let’s just say there is this certain strange and inexplicable pulling MOE aura surrounding this project that makes you want to scream “UGUU!”… “HAU!”… “NIHAHA!” and “NIPA!”… but perhaps the biggest attract factor is the large logo accompanied by sample sprites located here… also, of all the WIP threads I’ve seen… this one is by far the one with the most solid presentation and highly likely candidate for completion…

OK, so I’ll contribute on GUI coding but primarily on BG-CG’s since this is my forte and again, I decided to employ Google Sketchup for the job…. 3D Lol Wut!…

C’mon! Stop throwing rotten tomatoes at me!… Everyone knows the advantages of 3D… it is fast, rota-table, repeatable, flexible and most importantly re-usable… it is also very VERY ugly… no way pure 3D can compete with hand drawn BG-CG’s in terms of beauty… or is it?… here’s where Photoshop enters…

We’ll use Google Sketchup to churn out reusable and flexible scenes fast then choose a good view. Once you had a good view… you can then export the scene as an image where you could do some “magic retouch” and make it resemble it’s 2D counterpart… need variation of the same location?… No problem! Go back to Google Sketchup, Load your model, Choose a different view, Export, Retouch and BAM!… insta-BG-CG’s! (Cheap I know… Lol!…)

Hey now, at least I still get the job done… and in this particular case, all I needed is to create a school building… once! and not only I get to have the necessary BG-CG’s for corridors but also for the stairs, classrooms, rooftops and other things…

This way, you’ll get instant gratification which prevents burnout (the main cause why most projects never get completed)… you’ll get to see the fruits of your labor fast…

Lol!… I talk too much today…

Gotta go for now…

5 comments

  1. When you told me you were working on two different projects, I had no idea what you meant. Now I know.
    Tanks and schools. Keep up the good work.


  2. Every time I see you posting about your Sketchup work, I start praying for a tutorial D:

    Good luck with the project by the way…the hallway backgrounds look awesome, especially the reflections on the ground!


  3. I second what Cielo says *nods*


  4. Looks at the backgrounds…
    Looks at the CG backgrounds…


    Stuff needs to be fixed…





    • Seriously…this stuff is just too awesome…



Leave a Reply

