h1

And just when I though I finally found a way to churn out BG-CG’s for OELVN’s specifically for the project Sepia Tears… fast and cheaply… then comes this #$&%!@!! pile of snow…

September 27, 2010

Be warned… this is a rant thread… nothing to see here other than me blowing some steam to release tension and relieve stress… Lol!…

Let’s toss modesty aside for the moment… what used to be a 4 to 10 hour ordeal… using my newfound techniques, I cut down BG-CG production for OELVN’s down to 2 to 3 hours (thanks to Sketchup) leaving me plenty of room to go by my regular busy schedule and still be in this hobby… until I encountered well… Snow…

Sure, you can create convincing buildings, cars and other stuff in Sketchup really quickly… feeling lazy?… Just download components (modify a bit… Lol!) but there is no easy way out of doing snow in Sketchup… Well, there is a way to create snow within Sketchup but even with soft edges set to ultra mega maximum it still looked umm… flat. You could add a few more boxes here and there but not only this takes time, the more you add, the closer you are to reaching Sketchup’s limits… Sketchup is a 32bit app so it had a memory cap and still not get the perfect hand drawn result… not to mention that I never experienced snow firsthand so all I have for reference is Google images and Kanon anime from youtube…

For this, you don’t have much of a choice but to (ugh…) draw them manually which took about an hour and a half. Let’s see 2 to 3 hours in BG-CG + 1.5 on snow = wasted time. Doing the snow manually defeats my primary purpose of finding ways to cheat and cut down BG-CG production time.

On one end you have speed and on the other, your objective to achieve that almost hand drawn look. Sure, I lost about an hour and a half more than I planned but after looking at the result… wasted time justified…

I go for now…

2 comments

  1. The more I read about your BG research the more I think you would achieve better results exporting to blender where you have greater flexibility(but the exporting process would probably defeat the purpose of saving time)
    On the bright side I think your BG are already on a professional level of quality


  2. I agree with adrix 89, your backgrounds are definitely just as good as the backgrounds I’ve come across in popular visual novels, infact they’re above average by popular visual novel standards



Leave a Reply

