h1

And here I am again doing something non-VN related… Beach House Lemon from Shinryaku! Ika Musume… Hmm… Ain’t I supposed to be doing something more important instead of this… thing?…

November 11, 2010

Once in a while you get some really crazy idea into your head… and idea that had no merits, no benefit whatsoever… it’s so crazy it’s stupid to even think about it…

I mean, do a detailed recreation of that restaurant in Ika Musume in Sketchup which obviously will eat a good chunk of my precious time with no apparent usage whatsoever and I absolutely certainly wont profit from this… and yet…

I still did it… Lol!…

Long story short. This idea just doesn’t want to leave my head no matter what so I halted every project I’m engaged in (Sepia Tears, K-On, Shitposting on /jp/ under proxies for the sole purpose of shitposting due to useless newfag janitor medling too much while imposing his own shitty rules… and so forth) and focused on this one for 3 days and didn’t stop till I get it done…

Of course it wasn’t easy since all I had is youtube for reference. So I decided to ask 4chan’s /a/ for assistance and sure enough… some of them are gracious enough to provide high resolution screenshots for reference purposes… not only that, they helped me identify some key components so I can Google larger images for reference… and this is the result…

I can safely say I have underestimated the amount of effort to re-create this using only screenshots and wild guesses from the anime alone. The most obvious problem is the inconsistency of the drawings.

Take the menu board on top of the counter for example, In episode 1 alone it changed from brown to white.

Also the raised Tatami floor kept changing height. The most prominent feature of the building, the “hole” Ika Musume made also kept changing size and position… same with the exhaust fan and so forth…

A detailed sketchup reconstruction of Beach house Lemon from Shinryaku! Ika Musume (侵略!イカ娘) Anime.

So anyway, this model is free to use for whatever purpose it may serve best… now let’s play with it a bit… LOLOLOLOL!!!

You can download the model here

http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/details?mid=f60725f1bb5cbfcbf6102056e69e77b3

8 comments

  1. Just out of curiosity, did you use a texture for the fence, or is it modeled?


    • It is texture with alpha channel.


  2. I’m curious about how you made the fence.
    And even if you don’t use it, it’s great practice! >=>


  3. Why waste your time and effort doing this in Sketchup when you could do this in Max instead?

    Kudos for effort though.


  4. Like I said on /3/ it’s really nice.

    I’m really impressed by the way your BGCGs look.

    I’m gonna take another look at SketchUp because of you, I watched some tutorials from a DVD on SketchUp a while ago but never did anything with it.

    (I wonder if it’s any better to model architecture than Blender – I’m only working on my first model (a low poly character) in Blender since two days, after having toyed with it a while ago…)


  5. Haha this looks friggin’ amazing! Nicely done.
    (shinryaku shinryaku shinryaku is now in my head)


  6. Amazing work Uncle Mugen!


  7. Best thing I saw for the past few months. No, seriously ~degeso. ^_^



Leave a Reply

