h1

And now that I released The Fucking Question Version 2.0… what have we gained this time?…

September 3, 2012

Quite frankly… a LOT!…

First and foremost… people will avoid your work no matter how good it is if it’s above 100MB unless you have a good marketing coverage… which is not possible in my case because I’m practically a one man VN team… so from this point onward… all of my works will be 100MB and below…

There is this another thing needed to be considered that not everyone can run a 1280 x 720 OELVN… I could make two versions but that’s too much hassle for something I do in my sparetime and for my own personal amusement…so I’ll switch back to 800 x 600 or lower resolution to increase chances of having my works play properly on most machines…

I also learned that adding animations in your VN doesn’t guarantee audience so I’ll avoid using them as much as I can from now on…

The way it is right now… 6.14 Renpy is still kinda wonky regarding the text editor department and I can’t get edithra to work nor am I able to download and update JEdit so I’ll be stuck with 6.13 for the long run…

While there are a plethora of things and tricks I learned from undertaking this project… there is still one lingering question remaining…

Where do I go from here?…

Lemmasoft ain’t what it used to be… most of the people I know back then are either gone or has gone pro with some now begging on Steam Greenlight and out of reach now and a few of them become major douchebags simply because they are “Artistically Talented” … which is kinda sad especially looking at the current rooster of active users… I barely recognize anyone anymore…

Nothing wrong going pro and commercial but I sorta missed the good old days where everyone works at the fullest of their capabilities with burning passion and at the end of the day… we all pat each others back. Guess this is part of growing old…

I can go on and on doing OELVN’s and stuff but it seems I’m slowly approaching the point of diminishing returns… I can’t quite describe it but it’s like the OELVN flame inside me is starting to fade away… I may have to seriously consider retiring from all of this and quietly fade away… but that’s not the Uncle Mugen way of doing things… If I’m going… I’m going away with a bang…

Right now I began phase 2 of my plan which is to put the Original Lucy to rest and establish a system of succession in which I can finally give “Lucy” or “Lucy’s” back to the community and progress from there with or without my intervention… of course… there might be future projects focusing on the “gap years” of the original Lucy…

And last but not the least is Ren’py itself… the way things are… I don’t think I have a future with Ren’py the way things are right now… why you ask? With the rare exception of Renpytom… most of the talented people I know who has the potential to steer Ren’py in case Renpytom got hit by a bus are quite frankly some of the biggest douchbags on this planet. Seriously… why is it that some of the most talented people in this world end up being either a douchbag or a retard?…

Here’s the scenario I foresee…

Renpytom got hit by a bus. Someone takes over and imposes his/her own rules which may or may not be favorable to me. I know there are safeguards in place to prevent this but what if Renpytom really did get hit by a bus… whose gonna enforce those safeguards?… Oh OK fine… I can still use the engine but what if I’m on bad terms with this person who inherits Renpy… say goodbye to tech support… Why bother right?… I can use the older Ren’py version made by Ren’pytom… but that one will most likely be outdated by that time… I could program my own engine… Nah! Who am I kidding I can’t do that!… Use another engine?… What?… throw all the years of accumulated Renpy knowledge?… I got money… why not hire your own programmer to write an engine for you… but that means I’ll now have to go commercial since I now am spending REAL money and real money must be recouped… that means it’s no longer a hobby and I don’t want it… why would I waste months of my time making a commercial game whose story I probably don’t even like and sell it for like $10-$15 a piece and maybe sell like 3,000 to 20,000 copies when I can make the same money in a month or two or even less simply doing what I’ve been doing for the past 10 years with far less effort…

It’s a crossroad I know… I can stop now, I can cling on stubbornly…

I dunno… let’s see how long I can last… Lol!

4 comments

  1. Good news!

    There aren’t very many buses that run around here. So I don’t think you’ll have to worry about me being hit by one.


  2. Hire me! Hire me! I’ll work for art!


  3. tl;dr
    Where are the funny pictures in between the walls of text? Where are the changes in text style to denote important things?
    Come on, uncle Mugen. You’re losing your touch.


    • Yes… you are pretty much spot on… Don’t worry… I’ll retrace my steps backwards and get my MOJO back. Thanks bro… as long as Uncle Mugen has a fan even a single fan… It’ll be more than enough to keep me going…



Leave a Reply

