h1

Renpy as a… presentation material?…

January 28, 2010

Let’s start with this…

What you see in the projector screen is a presentation powered by Ren’py. Of course we all know that Ren’py is a “Visual Novel Engine” meant for “Visual Novels” so why am I doing this… thing. Well… because I can and it’s RISKY and FUN! I know Ren’py can handle Videos, Play Sounds, Show Images in so many different ways. Renpy has all the features of a full-blown presentation tool minus the high cost since Ren’py is free.

Actually, I’ve used Ren’py before as…

A promotional material for promoting Oblax’s Concert in Cebu distributed to potential sponsors.

As a highly rushed substitute animated backdrop because the primary HD in the computer that was meant for the task went “POOF” just hours before the same Oblax concert starts by binding a bunch of animated displayables (code stolen from someone’s game) into keys so I can scene change at the press of a button… very neat…

A promotional material for a umm… certain err… company selling printer inks and specialized printing machines.

As a presentation material for a seminar of pediatricians. Burned and distributed to all 200 who attended.

So far, Renpy hasn’t failed… yet. So I am quite sure it will work out just fine. Confident, I decided to once again use Ren’py in another event and this time… a press-con for A Fucoidan, A Food Supplement from Japan.

Hours before the event. I double checked everything. Run lint and got this result…

Ren’Py 6.10.2a lint report, generated at: Thu Jan 28 09:21:53 2010
Statistics:
The game contains 0 screens of dialogue.
These screens contain a total of 0 words,
The game contains 0 menus.

Hmm… it seems Ren’py only counts the amount of “actual” words in it. Oh well… as long as it’s working I’m OK with it. Confident, I went to Annabel’s where the press-con will be held.

But once I arrived, my confidence was quickly shattered when I saw these…

Oh Fuck!… I said to myself… what if Ren’py failed in the middle of the presentation. Maybe me insisting on using ren’py for presentation is a bad idea.

Worried, I re-tested it again… it’s working… and now the moment comes. My hands were initially shaking when I first pressed the run game…

7 minutes later, it’s all over… everything went well… safe for now… yes Fun, Rewarding but very Risky…

 

Anyway, if you wanted to try the presentation itself, you can download it clicking the links below.

Windows Version

Mac Version

Linux Version

“POOF” (Disappears)

3 comments

  1. Everything went well, so it’s cool : )


  2. This is my first visit here, but I will be back soon, because I really like the way you are writing, it is so simple and honest


  3. Do you have copy writer for so good articles? If so please give me contacts, because this really rocks! 🙂



Leave a comment